The Municipality of Tarlac was converted into a component city by the virtue of Republic Act No. 8593, an act converting Municipality of Tarlac into a component city to be known as the City of Tarlac. It was proclaimed on April 19, 1998 after the plebiscite with affirmative votes of 21,378 out of 26,020 votes.

Since then several plans were conceptualized including the creation of a City Schools Division through Regional Memorandum No. 53, series of 2000. The Provisional Establishment of Tarlac City Schools Division (TCSD) was signed on May 31, 2000.

The first consultative meeting as interim division was held on July 5, 2000 at Maliwalo High School. It was attended by the Schools Division Superintendent (SDS) Ernesto J. Arceo, Mayor Gelacio “Ace” Manalang, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent (ASDS) Norma C. Lacson, Tarlac City Council, District Supervisors, School Principals, Master Teachers, and some Barangay Officials.

In the first year of operation, the TCSD was temporarily housed in the three-classroom building within Tarlac West Central Elementary School.

The interim division staff consisted of the following:
Norma C. Lacson, ASDS/OIC Schools Division Superintendent
Jose E. Garrido Jr. PI/Acting Administrative Officer

Division Coordinators in the different Learning Areas:
Teresita L. Cajucum (Filipino)
Melba C. Yumul (English)
Gloria S. Lugtu (THE)
Narciso Ocampo (Agriculture)
Romeo Lampa (Non-Formal Education)
Arturo Maniaul (PEHM)
Aurora B. Lugay (Mathematics)
Aleta M. Aquino (Araling Panlipunan)
Wilfredo F. Paras (Science)
Yolanda V. Villafuerte (Values Education)
Maria Flores I. Caparas (Health)

Public Schools District Supervisors:
Prescila Obligado- Tarlac Central District
Alfredo M. Castro- Tarlac East
Soleded Calma- Tarlac North
Mercedes M. Balaba- Tarlac South
Lydia B. De Guzman- Tarlac West

Support staff:
Maria Linda A. Cayabyab
Ma. Cristina A. Espiritu
Amy A. Gozum
Charlotte Ramos
Priscilla S. David
Lynn Amor A. Supan
Alvin dela Cruz

On September 22, 2003, the TCSD became independent from the Provincial Division.

On September 24, 2004, Mrs. Norma C. Lacson became full-fledged Schools Division Superintendent and served from July 5, 2000 to January 9, 2009. She was succeeded by the following Schools Division Superintendents:

1. Lilia M. Santiago, EdD – January 10, 2009- July 15, 2013
2. Edgard C. Domingo, PhD – July 2013- October 2015
3. Alberto P. Saludez, PhD – October 2015- October 2018
4. Teresa D. Mababa, EdD – October 2018- October 2019
5. Maria Carmen P. Cuenco, EdD – October 2019 – April 2023

At present, the TCSD is headed by Schools Division Superintendent MA. IRELYN P. TAMAYO, PhD, CESO V. The office is located at Brgy, Binauganan, Tarlac City.


This manual describes the organization’s QMS. It provides the internal information on the management system being implemented and maintained.

Consistent with the QMS Policy of the organization, the SDS and the Quality Management Representatives (QMR) are committed to attain quality as a way of life for all its customers and interested parties. To fulfill this commitment, it adopted ISO 9001 standard as a framework for this Quality Manual.

Objectives of the Manual

The objectives of this Manual are the following:
a. To provide a description of the QMS and serve as a reference in its implementation and maintenance.
b. To inform the internal and external stakeholders on the QMS.
c. To serve as a tool for the management and staff in upholding the QMS policies and enabling them to better serve customers and stakeholders.
d. To ensure that quality service continuously meet the standards set by the organization and expected by its customers.